A note on names

I sometimes wonder if the period after leaving school (where every option is supposedly open to you) is the period when you discover exactly what you’re actually bad at. I discovered this a few weeks ago when I tried to write some promotional literature for an event at work – utter disaster. I had it sent back with red writing all over it and the command to ‘make it snappier’. (It would be grossly unprofessional of me to point out that in the field of work I am currently engaged in, snappy is not a word we use a lot and for good reason. There are glaciers moving faster than some of my clients. Make it too exciting and they assume you’re trying to sell them something).

But the problem remains that I like writing knitting patterns and I need to host them somewhere (so that I can get little hearts next to my profile on ravelry.com) so I’ve got to make somewhere to host patterns. My previous blog, the imaginatively titled ineedsomewheretohostpatterns@blogspot.com, just didn’t feel right, so I resolved to create an alternative. But to do this, you need a title. A snappy, fun, memorable title.

The closest thing to a snappy phrase that describes my life at the moment was this short paragraph (brevity again not a strong point):

I’m a 20-something year old physics graduate, employed in the public sector with distinctly public sector salary and public sector job prospects, with a charming little garden in South London attacked mercilessly by squirrels. I recently acquired a pair of glasses that I need for close work, and I’m pretty convinced that the reason for needing them is my knitting addiction.

 

One Comment to “A note on names”

  1. Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

Leave a Reply

