Alas!

The Saucy Librarian is not to be.

This makes me sad. But it wasn’t my fault! (Well, it actually completely was, but never mind).

The yarn I picked was too scratchy and it turns out, way too fine to be used for a double knitting pattern. I bought it in a big cone at the Alexandra Palace Knitting and Stitching show and the man told me it was double knitting, but he was either lying or wrong.

I was on the 20th raglan increase round of 23 and the thing was barely past my shoulders. And stockinette stitch! Acres of stockinette which was just small enough to trigger my headaches that started this whole glasses-for-knitting thing off in the first place. It had to go. I’m sorry, Amanda Jensen, I love your work, but I couldn’t take it any more.

So I’m branching out. I think I need something a bit more involved and preferably using much bigger wool. The dusky pink stuff is now being saved (gauge pending) for Broderie by Connie Chang Chinchio (a knit-crush of mine) and I think I picked up enough aran weight yarn in the sales for Acorns by Carol Sunday (another knit-crush – check out Eve’s Ribs or Kelmscott while you’re at it).

This also supports one of my new year’s resolutions – to support more independent designers. And it wipes a WIP off my list … but not in the way I wanted to!

Leave a Reply

