New books, presents and a sneak preview

I’ve had a few blogs in my life. I can’t remember what most of them were about – I seemed to just complain about life in general. Occasionally I dig one of them out and either have a bit of a laugh (aged 21, I was quite funny!) or cringe (aged 17, I was not).

However, none of them have been as seasonal as this knitting blog. Knitting is not necessarily a winter occupation, but I just can’t get into knitting with cotton. So I need, if not cold weather, at least the anticipation of cold weather.

I don’t know if you have been following the weather here in London but we had the hottest April in decades and try as I might, I just could not pick up my needles. May came and went – and with it my birthday – and knit I could not.

But two things changed. The weather, sadly, has taken a turn for the worse and reminded me that actually, it’s not all that long until the date by which I’ve told myself I’d have turned out a collection of patterns. The other was that I came into a couple of books:

Best in Show is on a semi-permanent loan from a friend at craft club, who crochets like a demon but doesn’t know how to knit. It was a gift to her, and until she learns how to knit sufficiently well to do short rows, I think I’m hanging on to it as long as I keep her regularly supplied with knitted dogs. I think that’s a good deal.

Knitted edgings and trims was a birthday present from a very dear friend and fellow crafter, if not knitter. It was such a great present and full of inspiration (more on that later!). For her birthday, I got her a book of craft projects from Jane Austen’s era. But that lovely book of lace stitches wasn’t all!

Click the link below to see my other birthday present (hand crafted) and a sneak peek of a forthcoming design…

How cute is this?!

Hand stitched – a little covered notebook for keeping notes of my knitting in! Look at the detailing – the little bee! The only thing is, my notes are generally so scruffy and unpleasant that I’m a bit scared of ruining it.

And here’s a close up of the embroidery – all done by hand. I have to admit I’m not one for sewing so I don’t have a clue how long this took but it’s so well done.

And as well as that, I promised you a sneak preview of a design … let’s just say that book of edgings has given me some inspiration!


All will be revealed in September …

Leave a Reply

