Ginger Leaves

I feel like I bought this pattern about 100 years ago. It was part of my pledge to support more independent designers, and also to get into knitting lace in a slightly bigger way. I liked the organic shape of it, the fact that it wasn’t huge, wasn’t expensive (hey, I gotta eat too) and knit in 4ply, so would be relatively quick.

I actually picked it up and started knitting about two months ago, and I was getting on well – but then my pattern went missing during a living room tidy up and with it the notes of where I was. And I was having my doubts about the yarn choice and did I really need another green shawl and do I like the way lace looks in 4ply?

Anyway, you may have guessed from the photos below that there’s a happy ending to this story – a few weeks later at my craft club, I spent a bit of time figuring out where I was and got back on the wagon. About a week later, it was finished!

Here it is pre-blocking (I do enjoy these before and after pics – it’s like a caterpillar turning into a butterfly).

And here are a few after shots. I really enjoyed the way the pattern just flowed into the different sections – very organic. All in all, a good knit. I’m still not 100% convinced by my yarn choice – I feel like I ought to have picked something a little bit fuzzier and less tightly plied – but all things considered, I’m going to call it a success.

Leave a Reply

